Inside the Foundation  
Foundation Raises More than $85,000 at 16th Annual Golf Tournament
Thursday, September 19, 2013 8:00 AM

The Cornerstone Credit Union Foundation (CSCUF) is pleased to announce that its 16th annual golf tournament, hosted in conjunction with the Cornerstone Credit Union League’s joint Leadership Conference & Exo and Marketing & Business Development conference in San Antonio, generated approximately $85,091 in net proceeds. Tournament proceeds help CSCUF provide resources for financial education initiatives and educational grants, as well as scholarships for credit union professionals and volunteers.

The tournament hosted 144 golfers and 58 sponsors, along with dozens of volunteers at the Canyon Springs Golf Club in San Antonio.

“Foundation staff and Board of Trustees would like to thank this year’s sponsors as well as the individual players, volunteers, and mystery draw contributors who helped to make this year's tournament a success,” said Courtney Moran, tournament director and CSCUF executive director.

This year’s winners are as follows:

Morning round:

  • 1st: Ron Burkhalter (Gulf CU); Jack Denny and Dusty Bowers (both from First Empire Securities), and Erik Shaw (FivePoint FCU)
  • 2nd: Darby McDermott and Brad Lemkau (both from Vantiv); Shawn Bailey (AMOCO FCU), and Jack McAdoo (Beacon FCU)
  • 3rd: David Meaux, Ronnie Hutchison, TW Permenter and Miles Hall (all from Sabine FCU)

Afternoon round:

  • 1st: Ron Goodwine, Mike Parrott, David Airhart and Joe Harwell (all with United Community CU)
  • 2nd: Lori Daniel (The Daniel Group); Charlie Roberts (PFP Services), and Mike Gleespan and Steve Gilman (both from Member’s Choice CU)
  • 3rd: James Poplin, Paul Paulsen, Jaime Beaman and Steve Read (all from Austin Telco FCU)

Contest Hole Winners:

  • Closest to the Pin: Mike Parrott
  • Closest to the Pin: Chastity Bodin (Vantiv)
  • Women’s CTP: Lucinda Rocha (Vantiv)
  • Men’s CTP: Mike Weir (Coastal Securities)
  • Women’s Longest Drive: Lucinda Rocha
  • Men’s Longest Drive: Mike Parrott
  • Women’s Straightest Drive: Chastity Bodin
  • Men’s Straightest Drive: Jerry Merrill (Concho Educators FCU)

To see a full list of sponsors and mystery draw contributors, please visit the Golf Tournament page.